Daily Prompt: Doppelgänger Alert

28. Oktober 2014 at 02:47 (Posts in English) (, , , , , , , , )

You step into an acquaintance’s house for the first time, and discover that everything — from the furniture, to the books, to the art on the wall — is identical to your home. What happens next?

Another Daily Prompt: Doppelgänger Alert

You can check out the other Daily Prompts I’ve written here:

Daily Prompt: If You Leave
Daily Prompt: The Heat Is On
Daily Prompt: Now You See Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“So, where did you get all of this stuff?“, I asked while eyeing her furniture which looked suspiciously familiar.
“Oh, I don’t know… It has all piled up over the years, I guess…”, she answered, smiling at me self-consciously. “Do you think it’s tacky?”
“No, no – not at all. Actually, I really like your style”, I tried to fake a reassuring grin, while panic clawed at my insides with icy fingers. “Suzie, would you excuse me for a moment?”
I turned and quickly climbed the stairs. Only then did I realise that I hadn’t even waited for her to give me the directions to the bathroom. I instantly knew where it was.

I closed the toilet lid and sat down on the cold, white plastic. I bent over to rest my head on my knees, trying to catch my breath. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw today’s paper lying on the bluish tiles. The page with the crossword puzzle was on top, half of the words filled in. I took a closer look – exactly the same spaces where left empty as in my own paper. I spent a minute trying to figure out at least one other clue, so I could fill it in – and make a small difference in our seemingly identical lives. But my mind was oddly and utterly blank.

As I sat contemplating whether this was merely a coincidence, I heard a knock on the door. “Are you okay?”, Suzie was asking, only just loud enough for me to be able to make out her words.
I sighed, washed my hands and walked shakily to the door. I felt like I was carrying a heavy weight on my shoulders. “I’m sorry, I thought I was going to be sick – but it’s okay now, don’t worry”, I lied.
“Do you want a cup of tea?”, she asked me, while we were heading back to the living room.
“Yes please”, I answered automatically, because tea was my favourite drink. “And I’m not really feeling okay”, I suddenly burst out.

“No? What’s wrong?”, she replied.
“Just about everything. Your flat looks exactly like mine, you have the same furniture, the same books, even the art on the walls is the same – I can’t believe this is a coincidence anymore!”, I cried out desperately.
“Well, of course it isn’t. Do you think it was a coincidence that we became acquainted with each other?”, she raised her eyebrows at me and shook her head slowly, as though she couldn’t understand how I could ever have thought otherwise.

“I don’t understand…”, I whispered.
“I’m not trying to steal your identity, if that’s what you’re thinking”, she replied. “I already am you. A better, improved version of yourself, if you will. I invited you to my home today, because it’s time that I replace you once and for all”, she explained. “I’m not going to kill you”, she said in reaction to my violent trembling and the horrified look in my eyes. “You will do it yourself, when you realise that I can live your life better than you ever could.”

The seconds in which I processed her words seemed to be stretching to infinity. I felt all the power slowly drain from my muscles. I only felt gratitude to my body as my mind went blank for the second time this day and I sagged to the floor.

It was my mum who helped me up. I didn’t know how much time had passed between the encounter with my alter ego and mum finding me on the kitchen floor. “You forgot to take your medication again, honey”, she whispered softly, while she half walked, half carried me over to the couch. “I don’t know, if we can go on like this much longer, Suzie…”, she sighed and kissed me on the forehead before she went to the bathroom to get me my pills.

Kommentar verfassen

